An increasing number of people today change their career and place of residence several times during their life. Is this a positive or negative development?

People nowadays prefer changing vocations and accommodations during their life because of advanced transportation. While some people argue it exerts an adverse impact, I firmly agree that it’s mostly a positive development.

Migrating frequently poses a threat on community cohesion. People were familiar with their neighbors generations ago since they lived in the same neighborhood for long period, and sometimes even for half of their life. Under the same local culture context, they were likely to get along well with each other, leading to better understanding and less conflicts in the neighborhood. However, it is difficult for current residents to adopt local norms and traditions after migrating and moving to unfamiliar areas. Less time are available to learn more about neighbors for those frequently moving away. This can be the main factors behind people’s low-level integration in new communities.

However, advantages are generated to individuals and companies. Due to this tendency, more options to suitable vocations and pleasant living places are offered for those intending to uplift their life quality, which can not only promotes career advancement but also broaden people’s horizons by exposing them to various customs. In addition, this phenomenon make distance no longer an factor to be considered for job-searching. A thus freer flow of labor force benefits companies and increases the likelihood for them to recruit competent staff. In that regard, changing careers and resident places seems to be a conducive trend compared to the situation where citizens stay in one place.

In conclusion, although such movement may produce some negative impacts, it is beneficial for personal progress and firms’ development to some extent.