Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

What is supposed to be the crucial element that serves as a catalyst of citizens' living quality? The answer lies in those essential factors that is closely related to our daily life such as public transportation and Internet. Compared with improving public transportation system which can only free people from traffic congestion, better access to the Internet can generate more benefits. Personally, I embrace the viewpoint that it is of greater importance for the government to make Internet available to everyone.

To begin with, Internet should be regarded as the priority for governmental funding for the important role it plays for the national economy. That is to say, when the role of Internet in promoting the development of companies is widely acknowledged, clear decisions should be made by all the countries to place more emphasis on such area. For instance, online conference, on the one hand, has significantly improved the working efficiency for international enterprises and reduce the daily expense because staff do not have to be away on business trips. On the other hand, Internet offer manufacturers a better platform to present their products and find potential consumers. Hence, more investment is of great need.

Additionally, it should be acknowledged that better access to Internet can also exert a positive influence on individuals. With the information dissemination accelerated by Internet technology, people can search for whatever they want as long as they have a smart phone linked to the Internet. While books were regarded as the best tools to acquire knowledge by my parents twenty years ago, it becomes currently a common occurrence for my 7-year-old cousin to study English and Chinese history by taking online courses. Therefore, when Internet is available for everyone, more chances of education have been provided to the society.

Nonetheless, voices can be heard that we can not ignore the significance of public transportation because admittedly, funding the construction of it will be beneficial to some extent. For example, traffic congestion might be resolved and daily life could be more convenient with broader roads and more routes of subway, which, however, does not equal that better Internet is of less necessity since the Internet generates much more advantages in a wider range of aspects.

Consequently, in order to ensure the living quality of people, it is better Internet access that should be emphasized by the government. After all, in this networked era, people who can surf on the Internet literally have the world at their fingertips.