Some people think killing animals for food is cruel and unnecessary and some people think is essential for daily life. Discuss both view and give your own opinions.

Since our ancestors learned how to hunt to survive the fierce natural environment, animals have always been an essential part of human diet but voices heard that animals can never be regarded as food or materials for some products. Personally, I still remain unconvinced of this viewpoint.

Virtually, domesticated animals are essential for our life. To be more specific, poultry are major sources of meat, eggs as well as milk and considered necessary to support healthy living. Such is the case for protein and fat, which, as indispensable nutrients, are found rich and of high quality on animals. On the other hand, the rapid growth of global population leads to the further demand for more food. Considering that there still exist many people suffering from starvation or malnutrition in the less developed countries, it is hardly reasonable to stop killing livestock now.

Nevertheless, the criticism about consuming animal-related products does make sense to some extent. On the basis of a report issued by the Department of Environmental protection in China explaining the carbon footprint, the more animals consumed by people, the more greenhouse gas will be emitted. Besides, despite existing laws that forbid poaching rare animals for human consumption, wild animals are still being hunted and slaughtered inhumanely in many places. Fisherman detach shark-fins from sharks and then abandon them to their fate, leaving them dying hopelessly since they are no longer able to swim or hunt. Such cruel and inhuman behaviour must be forbidden.

In summary, consumption of animals should be encouraged due to the increasing need for more food, while the authorities should enforce some regulations to protect animals’ rights and prevent more animals from extinction.