Modern agriculture methods damage the environment, but providing food for the growing population around the world is more important than protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As the population grows, more food need to be provided by using the modern technology, but the technology can threaten the environment, which kindles people’s interest whether the significance of providing food overrides the importance of protecting the environment. Some people suppose that people should provide enough food for the growing population, while other people prefer protecting the environment to providing the food. From my perspective, feeding the population should be the priority..

To begin with, feeding the population is of higher urgency considering the survival of human civilization. The need for food increases continuously, but the limited resources on the earth require us to provide more food for the growing population. Such is the case for many people living in Africa, where the local residents are facing a short longevity due to the weaker body generated by the deficiency of food. Suffering from severe hunger, most of the children there have to struggle with malnutrition and a serious of diseases caused by it. Hence, it is not surprising that the producing food should be the first choice.

Modern agriculture methods, on the other hand, do not necessarily lead to the deterioration of the environment. Such is the case for drip irrigation, which, as one of the methods used extensively in water-deprived areas like Israel, does little harm to the environment. This irrigating technology constructs an underground system to allow water to drip slowly to the deep of the plant. In this way, crops can grow well with lower water consumption, which, contrary to the statement that modern agriculture is detrimental the environment, primarily contributes to a better environment. Consequently, without being afraid of damaging the environment, growing more food is the top option.

Admittedly, protecting the environment is significant, since the living quality of human being will be greatly affected when they have to endure a polluted Earth; however, human survival, rather than high living quality, should be regarded as the first priority in current world. When attention is shifted to undeveloped countries in Africa, Asia and South America, there still exist numerous people dying of starvation or hunger-induced diseases like serious malnutrition. Assisting these people in escaping this misery is a far more urgent matter.

To light up the point I have discussed, there exist no questions to feed the population.