Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked fro home instead of travelling to a work place every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's modern world, many individuals are of the opinion that it is working from home, rather than commuting to work that is a better choice for most employees. From my perspective, while this development can bring about some drawbacks, I would argue that they are eclipsed by the benefits.

On the one hand, this trend could be disadvantageous to some extent. The main shortcoming is the negative effects on work productivity because it is likely that the employees can easily get distracted by several things, ranging from movies or online games to their offspring or house chores. To illustrate, if a person does his tasks and takes care of children simultaneously, he might not accomplish his jobs punctually and may make more errors. Therefore, workers could not concentrate entirely on their work while being at home. Another drawback is that working online can result in poor social skills including communication and teamwork skills. This is because employees will be likely to have less chance to interact and communicate directly with their colleagues and clients.

On the other hand, I am in the belief that the aforementioned disadvantages of home working could be outweighed by its advantages. One reason for this view is that it makes considerable contribution to strike a balance between work and life. In fact, many remote jobs also come with flexible schedules, which means that workers have the freedom to choose when and where they work, so they can have extra time to spend with their children or spouse. For instance, whether it is preparing breakfast for all members, dropping children off school, running soem errands or doing the housework, these are all easier to balance when they select remote work. Another reason is that commute stress can be solved when workers choose to conduct their tasks at home. This is because more than 30 minutes of daily one-way commuting is associated with increased levels of stress and anxiety. Recent research shows that removing the commute can help employees support their mental and physical health, since the time savings could allow them to focus on priorities outside of work, namely getting extra sleep in the morning, spending more time with family or getting in a workout.

In conclusion, although the trend of online working could have some repercussions such as low work performance and poor social skills, its merits including better work-life balance and less commute stress seem to overshadow the negative impacts.