Some think that buildings should be constructed primarily with practical functionality in mind, as it is more important than design.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Modern buildings are being built all around the world. Although many people suggest they should be built for a specific purpose, other people suggest that the design of a building is more important. This essay will discuss why the design of a building is more important that its functionality.

Any city or country wants the designs of their buildings to stand out as they are representative of their culture. Unlike functionality, which pursues efficiency for one particular purpose, design suggests of a nation’s acumen, and in this way becomes a symbol for a nation. The pyramid that sits in front of Louvre in Paris, France is an exceptional example of a design that draws on the past but is completely modern in design. The pyramid structure reminds us of ancient Egypt’s massive pyramids, but at the same time it is made of clear glass that allows pedestrian’s a glimpse into the museum beneath. The design is smart it embraces France’s continuous achievement in the field of art and design.

Likewise, another reason why design is so important is because it speaks to modernity or the advance of society as a whole. Buildings designed for function or by utilitarian reason crush the human spirit and offer no enjoyment of work or a moment of contemplation. If a building’s design includes elements of ‘being human’, then these designs speak to the human soul and allow for any person’s imagination to soar. For example, the Petronas towers in Malaysia are built with an original design that encompasses both the practical, as there are office buildings inside, and the modern, as they made of tempered glass allowing natural light to enter. They also stand out symbol of a nation, residing in its capital Kuala Lumpur. In this way, state can show that it stands for the advancement of society as well.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed two ways in which building design stands out over its utility. In my opinion, design is superior to functionality because it always contains a form of aspiration that looks to the future of mankind.