Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus

Do you think this is a positive way or negative development?

Due to technological development, young people tend to use the Internet regularly. Therefore, many universities offer distance learning programs as an option to replace traditional classrooms on campus. In my view, this trend has a positive impact on society.

In the first place, offering online courses means to give a chance for everyone to join the class. Students who live far away from school sometimes cannot go to class on time, which is difficult for them to catch on the lectures. It cannot be denied that the exorbitant cost of higher education is unaffordable to low-income people. Evidence shows that a lot of students drop out of universities as they do not have enough money to continue studying. Therefore, internet-based learning is the most effective way to keep up with their friends.

On the other hand, one disadvantage is that students cannot interact with others and teacher. Nevertheless, online classes bring students flexible study schedule. Individuals who have lack of time to participate in classes delivered on campus can get access to education through the Internet. With technological devices and internet connection, they can learn from almost all places around the world. Coronavirus outbreak disease time is a prime example, students can join in online lectures at home instead of going to face-to-face classes. Both teachers and students can rearrange the lessons if they are busy.

In conclusion, lots of universities create distance learning as the substitute option for students. This trend may have both benefits and drawbacks, however, I believe that this would be a beneficial development.