Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is sometimes argued that including minor subjects in the existing curriculum would play a major role during the time spent in university. Whereas there are some drawbacks in the backing of this view, I am of the opinion that learning more subjects will eventually help to strengthen various skills for students not only during their time in school but also when they enter a workplace in the future.

The argument that university students spend all the available time studying for a specific qualification is reasonable to some extent. This is mainly due to the fact that the time each person holds in a day is only limited, and some subjects may be deemed as being unnecessary. Therefore, if students keep spending all their time on those trivial subjects, it may cause them to lose focus on their main ones. As a result, this lack of time as well as the inability to focus on their main degree will be reflected in the exam’s grades with the possibility of being portrayed as incompetent.

On the other hand, there are various reasons why I support the idea of including other minor subjects in the main degree. The first reason for this is with more subjects on the table, students are now offered a variety of new knowledge and skills they may not be able to learn if they only study for the main qualification. As such, in the long run, these students will often be more appreciated and the chances of being offered more jobs will be much higher than those who don’t. Another reason worth mentioning is that by acquiring different skills and knowledge in various fields, students now will have a foundation on which they could negotiate for a competitive salary from their future employers. This could be explained by a common preference of employers for a versatile employee who can perform a diversified range of tasks.

In conclusion, while there are clearly some benefits regarding focusing only on the primary degree, I still believe that it is more advantageous to add more secondary subjects into the existing educational program due to the advantages it will bring back in the long run. It can be predicted that in the near future, students will be encouraged to be more resourceful as a requirement by future employers as well as to contribute greatly to society.