In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.Why is this the case?What can be done about this problem?

The revolutionary advancements in field of agriculture endowed mankind with substantial resources for their survival in best possible way. Modern world produces more food than it needs; however, there are sections in societies that could not afford this basic necessity. Favoring free markets and competitive environment, modern societies resulted in unequal distribution of wealth among members of societies. Provided the financial assistance to agriculture research and poor members, governments can overcome this problem.

Having encouraged by free market, many agriculture firms used to produce food items according to their demand and profit. For instance, many multinational agriculture firms in undeveloped African countries produce coffee to export it to international markets. Producing less locally demanded food items, these countries import food items from others countries. As result of less availability and more demand, these food items sometimes becomes out of reach. Extreme weather conditions also affect the agricultural production. Recently, many farmers in India were unable to make living on agriculture because of less production due to extreme hot weather.

Only if governments provide financial assistance to agricultural research and needy ones, can government solve the hunger’s problem. Climate change affected the productions of edibles in many parts of the world. Assisting financially the agriculture research to produce the crops having tendency to resist harsh weather and conditions, governments can control to improve and provide for growing populations. Subsiding the food and providing economic support for lower section of societies, governments can eliminate the food insecurity.

In conclusion, agriculture developments enabled modern civilization to produce in abundance yet there are people who can afford to eat. Not only the governments should support the research in modern agriculture techniques, but also they need to provide financial support to poor sections of societies ensuring food security.