Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people may believe that speaking is a more powerful form of communication than writing. Personally, I think both methods are highly effective modes of communication.

On the one hand, speaking is an extremely effective and efficient mode of communication in certain contexts. Firstly, oral communication enables people to connect with their listeners on an emotional level. For example, the tone of singers’ voices are able to inspire and influence others simply through their songs. Secondly, misunderstanding can also easily be prevented when people interact face to face. This means that when one person is confused about what the other is saying, he can immediately ask for further explanation to ensure that the information being exchanged is completely understood.

On the other hand, writing can also be an effective tool in everyday communication. The first reason is that in the workplace, speech may sometimes be ignored or interpreted in different ways. Therefore, written messages, emails, and documents are effective tools which help employees reread documents repeatedly to avoid miscommunication. The second reason is that written documents are usually required by legal matters, including job descriptions and emails are kept by written form.

In conclusion, both speaking and writing communication have their own purposes, benefits and drawbacks. I suppose that people should choose the method which is the most appropriate in the specific condition.