Studies suggest that children spend more time watching TV than they did in the past and spend less on doing active or creative things. Why do you think it is the case? What measures and methods can be used to tackle with it?

It is generally accepted that television is one of the most preferable forms of entertainment for all ages. Some people claim that children are more addicted to watch televisions rather than create new things. This essay will discuss some possible reasons why this issue has occurred and provide the measures for this disturbing trend.

One prominent factor contribute to this trend would be televisions’ attraction. In other words, many programs aired on TV have interesting and thought-provoking contents which fascinate children’s attention a lot. Typically cartoons with funny characters and catchy-tune musics, children are likely to collapse in front of the TV screen for hours without boring. In particular, if children concentrate for an extended time span without breaks in whether adequate and educational content or not, it can be harmful to their eyes as well as brain. Another feasible explanation can be attributed to the lack of parental care. To make it clearer, for many reasons, parents tend to have little time to spend with their children. Hence, these kids would make friends with the screen instead of receiving any encouragements from their parents to foster their imaginative or creative ability. Gradually, children would get absorbed in TV programs and isolated from the outside world.

The discernible solutions of this trend embrace parental control and school support. First, parents must soon prevent their children from developing this bad habit. That is to say, not only should parents strictly limit their children’s screen time, they also need to be role models because young children will need more proper guidance. Second, school plays a crucial part in children education. To put it simply, it should be better if school give more chance for students to participate in doing active or creative things with their fellows. For instance, painting, puzzle or sports contests are interesting activities which stimulate children’s creativity or imagination effectively. Children are likely to have interest in these things and the time they spend in front TV could be limited.

In conclusion, the essay have explored two primary causes why children prefer watching television to doing active or creative things and two measures to address this issue.