Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person Why do you think this is the case What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person Give reasons f

Nowadays, the concept of online communication has become prevalent among teenagers according to some studies. This essay will suggest the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon, and propose possible measures to alter the situation.

There are some reasons why juveniles opt to socialise online rather than meet physically. Firstly, with the advent of technology, the number of young people using personal electronic devices and Internet has increased. Those youngsters are, as a result, so engrossed with this that they became attached to their phones, and are hardly aware of their physical surroudings and people. For example, the reports of a recent survey conducted in the US suggests that more than 80% of the American adolescents prefer online communication due to the fact that they own personal digital appliances such as phones, laptops and Ipods which facilitate easy socialising. Furthermore, the prevalence of numerous social networking platforms can also serve as a root cause for the condition. For instance, there a number of applications like Facebook, Instagram and Twitter through which youngsters can make both phone and video calls, send messages and share their pictures.

Certain steps can be taken in order to tackle this global issue. First and foremost, parents should curb the amount of time their offspring spend on the phone. By doing this, they not only make the child get out of the unreal world, but also spend quality time together with the family. Additionally, governments and various organizations could devise campaigns to raise the awareness about the negative empacts of the social interaction on adolescents. In this way, children could be encouraged to partake in physical meetings with family, friends and relatives instead of chatting online.

In conclusion, it is true that teenagers are in favour of online socialising than the offline one because of the availability of electronic gadgets and social media sites. However, if parents and policy-makers contribute to the change in their preferences from digital to real communication, teenager will spend more time meeting others in person.