A tendency of news reported in the media about problems and emergencies rather than positive developments is more harmful to the individual and to society. Do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that media coverage related to negative and urgent issues has negative influence on people. While i agree that this kind of news has some passive impact , I believe it is as important as positive news no matter to individuals or the society.

I have several reasons for why i would argue that media should cover reports about problems and urgent issues. Firstly, mass media sometimes works as a supervisory system over government. Their news reports show people whether the authorities have taken actions for the social problems and offer people a way to track on where the tax money has been spent. Secondly, it is the responsibility of the mass media to cover urgent issues, such as the natural disaster which allows people to protect themselves from the potential financial loss and physical injury. Finally, the minority groups of our society need someone to cover their stories and to catch public attention.

I also believe focusing on reporting problems and emergencies influent people negatively. After being densely exposed to violent scenes or descriptions of crimes on media, greater percent of juveniles tend to act aggressively. Some of them may even copy those improper behavior or commit crimes. Normally, people would feel less secure after learning about news concerns natural disasters, economic crisis and military conflicts. Also, this kind of news can arouse the discontent toward governments among the public because people may consider it is the governments’ incompetence which leads to problems.

In conclusion, my view is that problem and emergency related news is necessary to everyone, although they may have negative influences to some extent.