Test and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages Give reasons and examples

In many nations, a key aspect of school education is paper-based exams. The principal academic advantage of examinations is that they reinforce what children have learned so far, and this advantage outweighs the disadvantage of the stress of being tested.

To be successful at exams, students should be up to date with the curriculum. In other words, were they to score high on tests, they need to study on a daily basis. For example, in some countries, schools conduct weekly and monthly assessments in addition to the semester and year-end exams; therefore, kids have a great opportunity to refresh whatever they learned in the classroom. This is supported by a recent study conducted at Oxford University, in which they claimed that the knowledge on subject matters is 85% higher in frequent test-takers than those who are not tested frequently. Therefore, assessing children is a great way to achieve higher academic performances.

However, some may think that a lot of psychological stress may involve the frequent checking of student’s knowledge. Of course, it may cause a little bit of mental pressure to obtain higher grades; nevertheless, were pupils to work on their syllabus daily, they can eliminate the stress. Not only do they release their stress, but they will also be able to become good performers. According to the annual newsletter of the National Education Ministry, students who study routinely have a 75% lesser chance to develop study-related stress than those who do not do so.

In conclusion, in most countries, having regular exams at school is a main characteristic of the education system. The main positive it brings is the higher academic knowledge and this does far outweigh the possible negative effect of the little bit of stress it might cause on students.