In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Businesses now tend to emphasize in their advertisements that their products are new. In my opinion, this phenomenon results from several reasons and it can be a positive contribution to specific aspects.

Businesses’ emphasis on their products being modern through advertising are due to some reasons. The first reason is that business companies aim to attract more customers through advertisements of their new products because they believe by advertising their products’ new features, customers can be interested in buying. Apple, for example, gains a huge number of loyal buyers for every iPhone release by opening press to introduce their new features in terms of cameras or designs. Moreover, since advertising has become popular worldwide, domestic companies can utilize this advantage to promote their products to expand their business internationally. By promoting their products’ potential through worldwide advertisements, domestic businesses are able to strengthen their identity in the industry and gain investments from other countries. A notable example is a shrimp production chain in Vietnam, which attracts a lot of investments from other countries by gaining trust and interest through advertisements of guaranteed hygiene and freshness.

Businesses can contribute positively to the economic progress of a country. Therefore, the more successful they become through worldwide advertisements, the more revenues they can earn from customers. This could also result in more taxes from these companies being paid to the government to serve for the country's development purposes and more breakthroughs being made to the country’s economy. Moreover, by advertising products with updated features, some businesses can show their creativity in an attempt to enhance customers’ experience with better convenience provided by their products. Samsung, for instance, always upgrades a specific feature completely in every new phone release with an aim to provide the best experience for buyers while using it in daily life.

In conclusion, I believe that the trend of businesses advertising their products to be new is the result of the aims to attract more customers and expand business range. It is also a positive development because this advertising method can show the efforts of companies in enhancing users’ experience in life and help important companies become richer, therefore contributing more money to the country’s economy.