In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is evident that different advertisement campaigns have been appearing in the market nowadays, however, these companies often brighten their products by emphasizing the criteria of new. There are some compelling reasons for this tendency, and I believe that this development brings about both benefits and drawbacks.

To begin with, there are some understandable reasons why it is important to advertise that their products are new. Firstly, since new and unique products could arouse the interest of customers, this considers a way to draw public attention. This means that their revenue would be boosted when customers are more curious about the better quality of new goods compared to old ones. For example, a new shampoo product with the function of coloring their hair in only a day has more capable of competing with other brands which do not possess this criterion. If their products have the same traits as other previous ones, they could fail to popularize their newly-released goods.

On the other hand, advertising their goods by this strategy would bring about either merits or drawbacks. In terms of negative impact, due to exaggerating their products’ quality, these businesses might fail in maintaining their potential customers after they experience the authentic ones. More importantly, if they find out that these products do not meet their demands and purposes, they would public some critical reviews on social media platforms. This prevents these companies from creating beliefs in consumers. However, using this way also encourages more creativity for different brands due to trying to produce breakthrough products which create more benefits for users. As a result, they even could export their products to compete with many foreign goods, which helps them to achieve more profits and a broad market.

In conclusion, advertising their products as a new one affects positively and negatively to businesses because of some reasons mentioned above.