In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Advertisements play a pivotal part in persuading people to purchase goods, so many companies today strive to show consumers that their products have some special new features that those of other companies do not. This phenomenon, which I believe to be a detrimental trend, can be ascribed to the attraction humans pay to strange new things.

To commence with the reason for this development, it might originate from the impression of uniqueness and strangeness to people. Indeed, consumers have a tendency to pay less attention to advertisements or products that are too familiar with them. Therefore, they would be supremely appealing to products that are said to possess a modern function or a new ingredient, giving rise to the number of advertising emphasizing the innovation and uniqueness of goods of numerous companies.

By virtue of the negative impacts that it may exert on people, I hold a belief that this phenomenon should be eliminated. When individuals believe in the advertisements, they might purchase things without any doubt about their quality, which can have a detrimental impact on users and can be considered as a waste of funds. For instance, numerous women purchase cosmetics that are said to contain new elements beneficial for their skin without considering if they are suitable for their types of skin.

To recapitulate, as people are inclined to prefer products that are strange and new, businesses tend to insert content that emphasizes the uniqueness and newness of the products on their advertisements, which can be claimed to be a harmful development.