There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because the computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper. Do you think it is a positive or negative development

Nowadays, it is true that the development of technology such as the computer tends to be easier in use and more affordable, which results in the increasing number of people spending more time working and studying at home. Despite some obvious drawbacks of this trend, I would argue that it is more beneficial for individuals.

On the one hand, spending time doing at home has some major disadvantages for both companies and staffs. Firstly, it is more difficult for supervisors to manage the time and performance of work. What I mean by this is that managers would not know exactly what workers doing in work hours. For example, lazy employees would tend to spend more time relaxing or doing other activities not relating to their major. Secondly, because there are many contributing factors such as family members, babies, workers would be likely to lack the intense concentration on major work. This can lead to a reality that staffs have to finish their work mass at other periods of time, even at night.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. One reason for this view is that workers would not waste more time for commuting. Hanoi, the capital of Vietnam, is a good example. It often takes over an hour to travel regardless of the distance from home to the company because of the congestion. Additionally, when travelling on the street, workers would have to cope with pollution and accidents which will never happen if they have the chance to work from home. Another reason is that students could take part in some courses at the same time. This means that students can enter both economics, science and foreign language courses to improve their knowledge and make more job opportunities.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the benefits of working and studying from home with the help of computer technology are much greater than its drawbacks, and this is a positive development.