These days, a great number of children prefer spending time on computer games rather than on sports. Why Is it a positive or negative development?

Much attention has been drawn to whether kids should pursue hobbies involving video games or physical exercises. This essay, however, believes that there are a number of benefits to playing games for entertainment. Not only will the cognitive capability of young people be enhanced, but computer games are also less risky than physical sports.

In terms of cognition, video games exert profound effects on children. Firstly, if children increase exposure to playing device gradually, they will get used to using the application software of the computer. For instance, when the players have problem opening the game such as when the app does not start or file errors pop up on the screen, those players are motivated to figure out what is causing the trouble as well as how to fix it. They, subsequently, problem solve by looking up tutorial videos regarding the technique which other players with similar problems have tried. On top of that, in order to win the game as efficient as possible, the children must make fast decision while employing tactics under limited time and resource.

As far as injury risk is concerned, playing games indoor poses nearly none, whereas playing sports involves a great deal. It is undeniable that little kids enjoy running back and forth and sometimes are mean to one another. Consider a group of teenagers that is playing soccer and one team is on the losing side. One of the members might become bitter and commit foul play such as trips and tackles. This will lead to injuries from minor bruises to broken bones or psychological scarring. Since the age of the kids is too young at the time of being wounded, the fear of being hurt again will obsess them for the rest of their life.

In conclusion, although computer games have received bad reputation recently, they can foster the mind of young people. Meanwhile, even though sports are praised due to health aspect, the possibility of injury is considerable.