Today, the advanced science and technology have made great changes to people's life, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is perhaps ironic that while the advancement in science and technology has made an enormous shift in people's lives by ameliorating the living standards and the general welfare of societies, the artwork paradoxically is mainly considered as superior to them. This essay will examine this issue and question what can be obtained from artists, whose creations have long been perpetuated in the vast majority of prosperous communities.

One school of thought believes that artworks mostly fail to contribute to societies' diligence and stamina to drastically boost in terms of economy and finance. The veracity of this view, for example, is corroborated by the findings of a monumental scientific research, which demonstrate that prominent discoveries in science have apparently led to the inventions of prevalent labour-saving devices that tweak in the era of globalization, thereby ensuring societies thrive economically as well as technologically. The pivotal aspect of this argument is that these incredible inventions have eradicated the most ubiquitous problems, namely communication barriers and transportation challenges which have long had detrimental effects on the development of countries. Furthermore, it must be stated that the creations of art are incapable of it. It is, therefore, irrational to put the priority on artwork rather than technological advancements.

Opposing school of thought, however, argues that art products have been, firstly, an indispensable factor in saving traditional customs of cultures from being jeopardized. A paramount bedrock for this axiomatic belief is that this is the sole way of not only saving these customs from being vanished but also perceiving them being transmitted from one generation to the next, thereby perpetuating their existence. Secondly, the proponents of art maintain that spiritual support and erudition in terms of religion and culture may be attained from truly ingenious art works that have hardly been subjected to fabrications. For instance, societies in the past history had been witnesses of an art creation like music being exploited in an effort to cure intractable diseases, mainly pertinent to human psychology. Thus, it is utterly naive to consider art as being overshadowed by science.

All things considered, it can be concluded that a certain degree of dedication to art is always necessary. The best course of action, however, would be an attempt to find the precise balance between the requirements of science and technology on the one hand and art works' on the other.