Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern society, it is reasonable to say that the power of marketing has gone further than what we would expect. An inevitable consequence is that popular goods with vibrant advertisements are widely chosen by the majority of customers. This, however, may affect the society as a whole on the grounds that its real needs are not fulfilled. This essay will look into both sides of the argument and discuss more about them.

To begin with, advertising nowadays is undoubtedly very appealing, which draws many people into buying things they don't really need. To be more specific, some companies even invite celebrities to advertise for their products, and this turns out to be quite effective. Many people are easily tempted by this strategy and spend money on unnecessary stuff. What is more, products that are carefully prepared for advertising usually seem more gorgeous and of better quality than they actually do. However, it is this wonderful, perfect shell that really attracts people and make them buy the goods without careful consideration.

On the other hand, the power of advertising doesn't really conceal the real needs of the society. In other words, people all have their own habits and usually they don't tend to buy things which are not their cup of tea. For instance, womans usually don't spend money on things like video games and technology, unless they actually want to. However, it is suggested that governments or local authorities should set out a limitation to the amount of money that can be used for shopping, so that people can keep it in mind and have a better control over their choices. As a result, they will have to take everything into consideration to make the best decision possible.

To sum up, the rapid growth of advertising has made it one of the most powerful businesses in this society. However, people should be aware of its influence and only choose to buy products which are truly essential and vital in their life. Only then can they manage their finance better and fulfill their own needs.