Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In a world where globalisation and technological advances have significantly developed to such an astonishing extent, it is necessary for people to improve their personal values in order not to to get left behind. Learning a second language is a crucial skill to obtain, and this has proven to be extremely beneficial in all aspects of life, especially in the workplace. As a result, there has been some discussion regarding the most suitable age to begin learning a foreign language. Many experts believe that children should do this at primary school, and this is an opinion which I think should be strongly supported because of its plus points.

To begin with, the idea that children should be introduced to a second language at a small age is acceptable due to the high learning speed. In simpler terms, kids have a tendency to comprehend new knowledge and ideas far quicker when they are younger; therefore, this stage of life would be the most appropriate to learn a foreign language. The concept of new words or their pronunciations will be engraved in their mind with relative ease, helping them develop further later on in their life. What is more, since young kids are not afraid or shy to make failures, they can keep practising and trying in a stress-free environment. Through many trials and correcting their own errors, the learning efficiency would be surprisingly high.

On the other hand, there are some aspects of a second language which can be difficult to comprehend when kids are still young. For example, tons of new vocabulary and complicated grammar points may be too much for young kids at primary school, on the grounds that they have not fully developed their concentrating skills and their attention span may be relatively short. Additionally, many parents are afraid that introduction to a foreign language at such an early stage would interfere with the study of other traditional subjects such as their native language or maths. This is also reasonable as many children are less willing to learn all the time, and too much schoolwork will form unnecessary pressure on them.

To sum up, despite some several drawbacks mentioned above, I hold the belief that exposure to a foreign language is essential for young children. However, teachers and educational authorities should find the most proper method to do this so that it would not affect other subjects that primary-school kids have to learn.