Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In this modern world where technology has increasingly developed, all aspects of life are likely to be affected, especially in terms of health. The sedentary lifestyle is becoming more and more popular, and the government has been trying to cope with this by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, suggest that this may not be an effective method and other solutions should be taken into consideration. This essay will outline some supporting points for both ideas and finally give my point of view.

To begin with, providing more sports facilities may create a positive impact on the health of citizens. Many people do not want to exercise due to the lack of proper equipment, and that travelling to sport centres would be too inconvenient. By putting more exercising machines in public places such as parks, they will be more encouraged to do physical exercises and as a result, improve their health. What is more, since such facilities are free to use, people tend to be more willing to get their body moving. What I mean is that, since most gyms and sports centres offer the most up-to-date things but at a relatively high price, people will not actively go to these places, and the offer of those free ones will act as a stepping stone to motivate them to improve their well-being.

On the other hand, others argue that this alone may not be sufficient and other measures are needed. This is true to a certain extent, on the grounds that many people are still not aware of the importance of exercising and their influences on the body. Therefore, government and local authorities should try to raise public awareness of the problem first, as this is the defining factor which leads to the problem. Additionally, public contests such as marathons or cycling races might work well, since they create a sense of competitiveness. In simpler terms, people will feel as if they are heading towards a certain goal, and this could significantly improve the public health.

In conclusion, I believe that creating more sports facilities to meet the demand of the public is definitely a good solution, but the effectiveness will be even higher with combined with other measures which are mentioned above. Should we successfully carry out these plans, the public health will be considerably improved.