Today, it is common to see famous sportspeople advertising sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, products related to sports are being advertised by famous players. Even though there will be a decrease in opportunities for advertising models, this essay will demonstrate how the number of sales has been raised by sports stars. Although the problem is a significant one, the essay do argues that the advantages of advertising by sports stars outweigh the disadvantages.

At present, Inspiration for most of the young generation is sports players. Therefore, if a famous sports player does an advertisement, product reach will be very high. My friend is a big fan of the famous cricketer Kohli. For the last 10 years, she has been wearing Nike shoes. Last year Kohli became a brand ambassador for Adidas sportswear in India. After watching his advertisement, she brought shoes from Adidas and started wearing them. Adidas company released year-end statistics of purchase sales of shoes in early 2020, it stated that the number of sales has increased from 5 to 25 percent within India.

However, this may lead to some worrying issues such as a decrease in opportunities for models working in advertisement companies. Which results in an increase in unemployment. One of my cousins named Keerthi is an advertising model in an ad agency. In the past, she used to be the brand ambassador for fila sportswear. But due to an increase in the trend for sports stars doing advertisements, she lost her contract with the company. At present, she is doing small roles in ads and remaining time working as a part-timer in a cafe to earn money.

Inconclusion, although there will be a decrease in chances for the sports models, it greatly increases the sales of sports products. Hence positive outcomes outweigh the negative outcome.