Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. What are the reasons for this and is it a positive or negative development?

During a few recent years, ever-developing technology has affected dramatically all classify in the society, especially the young generation. While children’s addiction to computer games and the decrease in time of physical exercise are from a number of reasons, this situation also causes many adverse impacts on children’s life.

On the one hand, many major culprits are responsible for a huge amount of time spent on taking part in computer games instead of sports matches by students. Firstly, one of the main reasons is parents’ unsuitable method of teaching children. For example, mothers want to feed their kids more quickly, they will allow them to watch interesting videos on YouTube, which could make students be more familiar with electric devices and use these gadgets more. Secondly, another reason might be from commercial companies providing computer games. It is obvious that this kind of organization always finds a way to attract more customers, specifically students. It is likely that computer games become more popular and more attractive to children than physical activities.

On the other hand, spending the majority of time on games with the internet, not on sports can bring many negative impacts on children. In terms of the social aspect, in fact, many children isolate themselves in front of a computer to play games during constant hours and do not interact with others, which could have adverse effects on their communication skills. Furthermore, with the overuse of computers and a sedentary lifestyle, the young generation would be more likely to suffer from various diseases, especially problems related to eyes.

In conclusion, although using a great deal of time to playing computer games and spending little time on participating in sports competitions are derived from internal and external causes, the issues have negative impacts on children’s health and social aspect.