Today more and more people are using mobile phones and computers. Thus, people are losing the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the communication skill is decreased because of lacking interaction when the increasing number of people uses mobile phone and computer. While I agree with this, I also believe that it is not suit for all people.

On the one hand, I agree that spending too much time in private electronics equipment has a variety of negative impacts on developing the ability of communication. Firstly, some people today are sending messages via email or sms instead of speaking, so it seems they do not need to say anything. That is a reason explains why they do not know how to read non-verbal emotional cues and eye contact, which can help their professional career in the future. Secondly, keeping eyes glued to screen of electronic gadgets have results in decreasing the interactions of people. For instance, in many families, parents do not talk to their children enough and always care about news or films on the internet, therefore, children will suffer from speech problems and have difficulties to learn literacy skills at kindergarten or higher education levels.

On the other hand, I believe that not all people using electronic devices will decrease their communication skill. Many young people can talk online with their friends for hours, and their stories are not boring. As a result, they can gradually improve their communication skills. In addition, online applications such as Facebook or Skype can encourage people to interact more frequently through live streaming. As a result, they will improve their speaking skills. Furthermore, when people live in foreign country, it is difficult for them to share feelings or talk to their family members without mobile phone or computer.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that the communication skill can be lost when people access computer and mobile phone, but this is by no means this would affect everybody's social development.