Today, some families are not eating meals together on a daily basis. Why ? Is this a positive or negative trend?

It is true that in the modern-day, many families no longer have a routine of sitting together around the table for a meal. While some reasons can be explained clearly for the disappearance of this custom, I believe that this trend has negative consequences.

First of all, each household has its own preferences for flavour and cooking. If the family gathers together, the habitual repetition is maintained constantly. Nonetheless, when each person has his or her distinctive time of eating, this daily routine might suffer negative changes as the family members are discouraged from making meals. This then will trigger a bad habit of eating improperly, which results in detrimental effects on health. For instance, a typical family will have dinner at a particular moment together. Due to work, they no longer spend time with one another in the evening and gradually adapt themselves to a new convention. They may not eat the same food, or even just stay hungry because of their laziness. Therefore, that all members spend time on their repasts irregularly can cause damage to their own health in the long run.

Secondly, gathering around for meals is a way to connect people and to release stress during the day since one can tell others about the incidents that happened. Hence, without this daily activity, individuals are more likely to be prone to depression. They have no one to confide in or to empathise with them when facing hurdles. This makes a person feel lonely and raises his or her mental problems. For example, if you live with your parents, it is easier to share how you feel, especially during repasts, because you know that they will support you unconditionally. Nevertheless, this cannot happen when you stay unconnected with other relatives.

In conclusion, eating together plays a crucial role in well-being and mental health. Thus, gathering around the table for dinner should be a regular habit so that one can be healthy physically and mentally.