Topic: Salary: When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, money is considered the most concern for people when they choose their jobs. Personally, I disagree with this statement that salary is the key consideration when accepting a career, due to vital other sectors.

On the one hand, money is necessary to keep up with their lifestyle and meet all their needs. The first reason is that in a fast-paced and developed society, people have tended to appreciate materialism which is a major factor for people to earn a living day-to-day and motivate them to concentrate on their jobs. For instance, money helps everyone meet their needs, have a reasonable quality of life, and pay for their basics, such as accommodation, amenities, and food. Furthermore, productivity to compensation starts with employees feeling valued, which increases motivation and loyalty. Employees are more motivated to do a good job, and the longer people are with the company, the more they know and the more efficient they become.

It seems to me that job seeker have various elements apart from salary to choose a career, such as job satisfaction and working effectively. Firstly, a job is more than a paycheque- it needs to be a source of pride and self-respect. For instance, many people have worked a nine-to-five job for over 40 years and rightly expect to derive a feeling of fulfillment from their jobs. Nevertheless, motivation to work involves trust, self-knowledge, challenge, personal growth, and dignity instead of purely financial incentives. Finally, effective working brings meaning and purpose to any job if we fully engage in our work and adopt a positive attitude toward colleagues and superiors.

In conclusion, while salaries certainly affect people’s choice of profession, I do not believe that money outweighs all other motivators.