Topic: Some people claim that tourism can help to bridge cultural gaps between people of different nationalities and cultures. Do you agree or disagree?

Tourism industry has been strongly prioritized recently with a view to enhancing national economy and promoting cultural identity. It is argued that via tourism, the cultural barriers between different nations may disappear. I personally believe that tourism-related activities may bridge cultural gaps, bringing a wide range benefits to both locals and tourists.

Firstly, I think that tourists would get deeper insight into conventions and traditional customs of the country they are visiting. Foreign tourists may need to get a basic knowledge of the native country such as language and manners, especially to avoid multicultural misunderstanding. For example, embracing each other when greeting is regarded as a normal behavior, however, it is considered to be impolite in some Asian countries. Absorbing an exotic culture can also afford tourists an opportunity not only to have a holistic experience, but to broaden their horizons about the world as well. Rather than going solely going sightseeing, foreigners may get a better understanding about historic site and cultural heritage. Although many argue that understanding a culture is unnecessary when going on a short holiday, I firmly believe that it is essential for travelers to socialize with local residents.

Secondly, indigenous denizens usually adopt a new culture from international visitors as well. Indigenous residents recently have had a tendency to learn languages from nations which have an averagely large number of people visit their countries in order to communicate comfortably with visitors and promote local products. For instance, in some tourist destinations in Taiwan, products and slogans are mostly interpreted in Vietnamese and English, and some can even communicate competently in such languages. Thus, apart from visitors, local denizens can also benefit from tourism when it comes to cross-cultural understanding.

In conclusion, I think that tourism play an integral part in bridging up distinctive cultures by providing a better knowledge about cultural identity of each country for both travelers and local denizens.