Some people think that hosting an international sports events is good for the country, while some people think this is bad. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The notion of organizing an international sports competition has raised conflict when it comes to the benefits that the host country could receive. It is claimed that the proposition would exert a positive influence on certain aspects of the nation, whilst the critics lay emphasis on the negativity. This action will be scrutinized on both merits and demerits in this essay, then the author’s perspective will be outlined.

On the one hand, the transnational sporting events undoubtedly provide opportunities for the host’s promotion in cultural aspects. Specifically, in light of these occasional competitions, the nation’s distinctive culture would be popularized globally via mascots and advertisements, which therefore might not only elevate its national identity but indirectly stimulate the tourism industry as well. For instance, the mascot of yellow buffalo has become a symbol of Vietnam since SEA Games 2003, and Vietnamese culture has also been more well-known by foreigners. Furthermore, the festivals could lay a solid foundation for a sustainable and mutually beneficial relationship among nations, enhancing the possibility of the cooperation in such fields as economy and politics.

On the other hand, there are arguments as to the downside of hosting international sports events, and the economic benefit is regarded as one of the prime problems. Particularly, to sponsor a spectacular international events,the government may have to allocate an enormous funding in multiple aspects such as facilities and accommodation for athletes, which might be a great financial burden on developing countries. After the SEA Games , for example, Vietnam had to compensate for a huge financial loss, raising the residents’ doubts as to the nation’s capability of sponsoring coming events.

To recapitulate, although hosting an international sports event could bring certain benefits regarding culture and tourism to the host nation, the demerits on economic field cannot be neglected. Nevertheless, I am convinced that the advantages of this notion far outweigh the disadvantages, and I would recommend the host consider both sides to organize a successful event.