Although more and more people read news on the Internet, newspaper will remain the main source of news for the majority of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advance of technology, digital communication has exerted a considerable influence on the public’s recreation of reading news online. One argues that regardless of the widespread of electronic news, there is no substitute for newspaper as the main source of news provision. While newspaper is informatively beneficial, I believe that electronic news will hold a vital position with respect to mass media.

The major reason why the majority of readers have diverted their affection from traditional newspapers to online news is perhaps the limitless access to up-to-date information. As opposed to longing for the exact publishing date of the magazines, with the aid of the Internet, readers could promptly gain insights into current affairs which is continuously updated. Furthermore, by accessing to news on websites, readers have an opportunity to be exposed to visual messages alongside the articles, such as videos and live broadcasts. This approach therefore serves as an advantage of digital media which may not seem feasible for the traditional coverage.

Opponents of the notion may argue that readers may be distracted by the wide range of fake news disseminated online; as a result, they may find it struggling to discriminate between official and fake information. This opposition may be sensible, but in fact, there have been a variety of private as well as governmental media corporations that operate online and offline, aiming to inform the residents with confirmed coverage of diverse fields, namely The New York Times. On account of that, the drawback would not act as a deterrent to the residents’ exposure to the confirmed news on the Internet.

To recapitulate, I think that online coverage would take control over traditional newspaper to be the dominant source of news. However, the readers should be wise when selecting a reliable website that provides official news.