Tourism is an ever growing industry.

What benefits do you think tourism brings to individuals and society?

Tourism has become a lucrative industry and fertile ground for investment. The primary benefit that individuals may gain from traveling to other places is that this broadens their horizons. For society, it is considered a source of stable income for many nations around the globe.

On a personal level, traveling to and vacationing abroad enables people to discover other cultures, languages, rituals and traditions. In other words, having such an informative and memorable experience makes people more flexible and open to accept others from different backgrounds. Tourism is a great way to strengthen one’s personality, become more responsible and self confident especially for young teenagers. For example, a study carried out by the University of Birmingham revealed that spending a year abroad for secondary school graduates is highly recommended because it teaches them self reliance and develop a sense of responsibility.

In many nations, tourism has become an asset to their economy and vital to local businesses. That is to say, many local businesses and activities are relying on tourism that enables them to operate and yield profits, such as craft making businesses, restaurants and many other trade activities. On a national level, governments cater for tourism because it has become an integral part of the annual GDP and any failure in this sector will have a drastic effect on a national economy. For example, a terrorism action that was perpetrated in Egypt slashed down the number of incoming tourists in 2016 and this has severely affected the economy and more than 30% of locals lost their jobs.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that tourism leaves a great impact on people’s personal attitudes, improve their interpersonal skills and provides them with the opportunity to explore new avenues beyond their areas of interest. Also, tourism has become an indispensable source of income to community dwellers and governments as whole.