The tradition of families getting together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

In the past, mealtime was a precious occasion for the family to gather and spend time on each other. However, nowadays, due to several reasons, that tradition is gradually vanishing.

In the recent era, people are getting caught up in the hustle and bustle lifestyle, devote a huge amount of time to work with the expectation to become successful and opulent. That costs them a lack of time to attend family meals and prefer some kind of fast food instead. Moreover, the difference in the schedule between each member makes them hardly make time to enjoy the meal together. Parents are always facing the tight timetables or sometimes need to work extra shifts whereas their children engage in classes. For instance, the majority of Vietnamese students participate in extra class after school, therefore, they prefer to eat fast food on the way to join the class in time.

The decline of family meals causes various negative impacts. As a matter of fact, family meals play a vital role to strengthen family bonds between members. During mealtime, people are not only enjoying the food but also talk together, share their stories to have a thorough grasp of others. By contrast, the less frequently people seat on the family table, the more gap between each individual and consequently turn out to be a dysfunctional family. Furthermore, there is plenty of researches prove that family meals can diminish the rate of obesity in youngsters. If the cultural tradition of family meals vanishes, the youngsters will consume more junk food buying outside instead of healthy and nutritional diet cooking by their mother, leading to the exceedingly increase of obesity and other diseases.

In conclusion, the decline of family meal tradition regards the current modern lifestyle and it contributes to the expanding distance between members as well as some specific diseases in the junior.