Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Homework is often considered as excess, whereas the antagonists consent to the essential of homework in the education process, and both views hold a degree of rationality. From my perspective homework is educationally vital but should not be mistreated.

According to the homework objectors, it may put immense pressure on the kids since the daily schedule already takes them an average of 8 hours. In the long-term, pressure will make them suffer from various health issues from physical to mental illness, such as depression or headaches. Therefore, the rest of the day should be prioritized for their leisure activities. Furthermore, besides academic record, the comprehensive development requires pupils to improve and develop their hobbies and talents, enhance skillset, and participate in outdoor activities.

On the contrary, the sakes of homework are undeniable. First, exercise is an efficient tool for students to revise and systematize their perceived knowledge, comprehend the subjects and those applications after school. Additionally, completing the entire assignments on time encourages kids to enhance self-education, time management, discipline, and self-consciousness. Second, homework helps to keep track of pupils' academic progress. It will reflect whether the students get the point of the lectures, their strengths and weakness, allowing the teachers to gain insights and provide timely assistance.

To conclude, homework contributes significant advantages in education. However, the workload is an aspect that must be taken into consideration. It should be adjusted to fit the learning schedule and save time for other extracurricular activities. In order to reduce the pressure, I propose that those assignments are only used to evaluate the comprehension level instead of marking and ranking. Moreover, education is not only the duty of teachers and school; the parents and kin should also pay attention and support the children with their learning and homework.