Traditional classrooms in the past held lectures with multiple participants. Now that technology makes it easier and faster for students to access information, the need for traditional classroom discussion is becoming less popular. It’s because the internet is a more effective method than the regular classroom.

Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What is your personal opinion?

Over the past decades, there has been a seismic shift begot by the technical advancement in educational aspect. While some commentators who advocate the advantages of convenience and immediacy brought by electronic learning platforms contend that the Internet is a more auspicious means of cultivation than conventional classroom, the aim of this essay is to explore the vital significance of retaining face-to-face lectures with students, firstly the essential transfer of particular skills, secondly the significant cost involved.

First of all, there is ample evidence suggested that employment of the Internet-based tools on teaching constitutes a hindrance of academic development. This is because these means impede face-to-face communications among teachers and students, not to mention the interaction among students themselves. Recent empirical research from the Hong Kong University ascertain that students who graduated from remote learning generally acquire a lower level of presentational skill in comparison to their counterparts from traditional classrooms. Consistent with this line of thinking, a decadence of some essential skills is likely to be observed on the condition of applying at large. Therefore, this utilisation weakens the effort spent on enhancing educational achievement.

Another important factor to consider is that the usage of these tools is tentamount to a financial burden for individual student. This is due to the fact that the installation cost of laptop and the Internet tends to remain exorbitant to families dwelling in remote regions or in penury. Results from extensive studies conducted by the Hong Kong Government established that 60% of families remain unequipped with the necessitated facilities in their household. Seen in this light, students who enrolled in such online courses are warranted to invest more than their peers to cater for this inherent prerequisite of studying in remote classroom. Consequently, their personal financial burden intensify.

In conclusion, despite the upside of adopting the leading-edge technology, the traditional way of teaching still has a pivotal role to play in terms of affordability and enriching interpersonal skill. It is predicted that the orthodox vehicle might render obsolete once the detrimental effects are eradicated.