Traffic congestion is becoming a huge problem for many major cities. Discuss the problems and Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce traffic in big cities.

It is noticeable that traffic congestion is increasing dramatically in most countries. The majority of urban people suffer in their daily lives due to traffic jams. In my opinion, a range of measures should be taken to lessen traffic in big cities.

Traffic congestion is mainly caused by commuters traveling to work. One of the main reasons for traffic jams is that most of the people prefer to use their own cars instead of public transportation, which means that they tend to travel alone. The reason behind this is that public transportation is not reliable and efficient for them, and the cars on the road are rising with an increase in the world population. Another reason is that most people live in the suburbs outside the city center and they tend to travel at the same time of the day. Also, cars and road space are not used efficiently. This causes traffic jams during the rush hour.

There are several ways to mitigate the problems described above. Firstly, passengers need to change their working habits and can use the internet to connect people. For instance, companies like Unilever and Coats, employees share cars and travel together, and meetings and training are held through video conferences. They also allow the employees to follow the flexible timetables. Another solution would be for governments to ensure cheap and reliable public transport network systems, such as buses, trains and trams for urban residents. In this way, people would be encouraged to use the public transportation than driving their own cars. Finally, governments could impose a congestion charge for every car that will go to the city center. This will either discourage people to drive into that area, or raise money for better public transportation. A good example of this situation is London, which has a congestion charge. Going to the city center of London costs about 8 pounds per day.

In conclusion, although traffic congestion has a negative impact on our daily lives, still I believe that various measures can be taken to tackle the problems.