Under British and Australian laws a jury in criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be givrn all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

The term “law” has wide meaning and it allows different properties in different countries. In United Kingdom and Australia jury is not allowed to reach accused person’s criminal history, however other countries give the right to do so. Thus people tend to believe that it is not applicable and advice that jury has to have an access for information about criminal record, but as far as I am concerned that is not right suggestion.

Initially, it impacts general overview of defendant. As a rule, first impression is the most valuable, while making decisions. That is why if juries ha...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.