Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protect the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practise should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree

In British and Australian, it is required by law that a jury is not allowed to gain access to the past criminal information of the offender because this protects the offender from being mistreated. Some lawyers, however, argue that it is better to provide the juror all culprit’s past criminal record. I am of the opinion that history criminal data of the defendant should be prohibited to the jury members because I believe that this regulation assure the objectiveness of the final judgment and help to protect the innocent citizen.

The first point to note is that making sure the defendant’s previous criminal record is off limit means the jury is likely to make more objective verdicts. This is because criminal background of the offender may possibly influence the bench to make prejudiced decisions. Based on what the culprit did in the past, juries can be a bit more stereotyped and subconsciously come to the conclusion that discriminate against ex-convicts. For instant, if someone is accused of murder and they have history of committing theft, the juror may be bias against the offender and perceive him or her as a criminal although murder and theft are not relevant. This can lead to a wrong accusation.

Another reason why juries are not allowed to have information about the criminals past is because this plays an important role in protecting the innocent defendant. For instant, some people who have been in prison and do regret their wrong doing. After rehabilitating, they become a good human being. However, when their criminal profile is available to a jury, the jury can use it as a backup evidence if that individual accidently commit a crime in the future.

To conclude, the offenders's history criminal information should not be accessible to the bench in order to avoid impartial evaluation and to protect the guiltiness culprit.