Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every
subject.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
In my opinion, men and women should have the same educational opportunities.
However, I do not agree with the idea of accepting equal proportions of each gender
in every university subject.
Having the same number of men and women on all degree courses is simply
unrealistic. Student numbers on any course depend on the applications that the
institution receives. If a university decided to fill courses with equal numbers of
males and females, it would need enough applicants of each gender. In reality, many
courses are more popular with one gender than the other, and it would not be
practical to aim for equal proportions. For example, nursing courses tend to attract
more female applicants, and it would be difficult to fill these courses if fifty per cent
of the places needed to go to males.
Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, I also believe that it would be
unfair to base admission to university courses on gender. Universities should
continue to select the best candidates for each course according to their
qualifications. In this way, both men and women have the same opportunities, and
applicants know that they will be successful if they work hard to achieve good grades
at school. If a female student is the best candidate for a place on a course, it would
be wrong to reject her in favour of a male student with lower grades or fewer
qualifications.
In conclusion, the selection of university students should be based on merit, and it
would be both impractical and unfair to change to a selection procedure based on
gender.