Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It has been a long time since the first movement towards gender equality happening and it still has a long way to go. However, equality in gender does not mean that universities should fill their courses with the same proportion of men and women. In this essay, I will mention the main reasons why I believe that students of any university discipline should be chosen by their merit instead of gender.

First of all, it would be unfair to have an equal number of each gender in every university subject. Currently, all the students who want to enter into the privilege universities have to work very hard to show that they deserve for a place on a course. If the current system changes to admission procedure based on gender, this would demotivate students to excel in their area. Reserving the seat in university courses because of gender would also steal the opportunity to study the subject of their choice of many talented students. Therefore, it would be better to allow both males and females to apply themselves in order to fight for the right to pursue their dream.

Apart from the fair concern expressed above, I believe that it is unrealistic for the university to have the same numbers of men and women in every course. This is because, naturally, some fields are more popular to one gender than another. For example, childcare courses attract a far higher proportion of female applicants than males while the majority of civil engineering students are men. Thus, these courses might be delayed or canceled since the institutions have to wait for enough applications of each gender. I do not think this kind of selection procedure would be effective and beneficial for any side, including the university, students and the economy so there is no reason to do it.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it is impractical and unfair to select university students depended on their gender rather than their talent and qualifications.