The use of mobile phones has increased dramatically in recent years.

What are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

Over the past few years, there have been a dramatic increased in the use of mobile phones. With such development, it brings about both negativity and positivity in life and I will discuss both points of view in this essay.

Looking first at the positives, mobile phones across the world has allowed communication to take place easily. With this, people are now able to stay connected even if they are at opposite ends of the world. For example, parents who have children studying abroad can now easily communicate even though they are far away. As a result, it brings about easy communication despite being kilometres apart. Besides communication, mobile phones have also made travelling easier. For instance, for those travelling to a foreign country and are looking for places of interest, they are able to use the map installed in their mobile phones for navigation. Consequently, the easy access of mobile phones do bring about positive effects in life.

On the other hand, increased use of mobile phones does have a harmful effect on society. This is because people are becoming too addicted and glued on to the phone screen 24/7. With regards to this, teenagers who are too engrossed with their mobile phones could not even take their eyes off while crossing the road. Consequently, this causes more traffic accidents to occur due to their negligence while crossing. Additionally, with the increased of mobile phones usage, more people are feeling more lethargic as they spend most of their time on the phone instead of sleeping. This then affects their sleep quality, which is a disastrous effect in their life.

In conclusion, both views have their merits. It is my firm belief that the change in the trend has cause more negative effects as it can cost someone to lose their life easily.