Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that sports facilities play a crucial role in enhancing the public’s health. However, while some believe that an excellent way to approach this is through having more sports facilities, I would agree with those who argue that this would have minimal impact and other measures are needed such as having a healthy diet.

Firstly, it is important that sports facilities help to equip the public in getting into shape and keeping fit. This is because an area without easy access to a fitness centre is an area that fails to motivate and maintains essential needs for one to keep fit. For example, if we did not have easy access to exercise machines, we would not be able to keep our bodies healthy and fit.

However, I believe that having more areas for exercising would have minimal impact on the public’s health and eating healthily should be considered as exercise alone does not help to keep one fit. One reason for this is that some people might misuse the equipment as they have little or no knowledge regarding its functions. For instance, if they did not use the correct techniques when lifting a kettle bell, they could end up with injuries as they might pull a muscle or two. It would then be beneficial if there were various classes made available for everyone to enrol in, allowing them to learn the basic and safe techniques while using various machines. Besides this, consuming more fruit and vegetables as part of their daily diet is would be essential. As a result of doing these two things, would create a more well-balanced, regular diet and a healthy, active lifestyle.

In conclusion, despite the idea of increasing the number of sports facilities being the best way to improve the general health among the public, it is my firm belief that both engaging in exercise through the correct way of using an equipment and having a balanced diet would be much more beneficial in boosting the public’s health.