In the modern world it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the recent years, it has been a trend that people are able to survive without any face-to-face communication as the Internet availability has enable people to interact with each other via various online platform more easily, made purchases online and even work from home. While there are many benefits to such development, there are also some drawbacks to consider.

Looking first at the advantages of technology advancement, it is undeniable that it has made communication across the world much easier compared to life without Internet. For instance, students who are studying abroad benefited from the Internet as this allows them to easily stay in touch with their family and friends. Besides that, with advancement of Internet, it allows business deals made easily as Internet connects everyone across the world together. As a result, companies do not have to wait for days for a signed deal.

On the other hand, Internet can cause detrimental effects on some people’s lives. This is so as some people has become an addict towards the Internet and could not live without it, thus forgetting about the outside world. With poor social interaction, these people will then feel awkward upon meeting people. In addition, Internet can also cause some people to make poor choices, especially when they are doing online shopping. For example, while choosing the clothes they would like to get, they might not select the right size, as they are unable to try on it. Consequently, they end up with a dress that they could not fit in. It is therefore, much more beneficial for one to make a trip down to the store than purchasing online.

In conclusion, although Internet keeps everyone around the world stay connected, there also drawbacks that can damage one’s lives. Therefore, it is essential to use the Internet moderately.