The use of social media is replacing face to face contact with many people Does the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

It is widely believed that the advent of social media is strongly having impacts on interactive communication in a community. This essay argues that the disadvantages greatly outperform the beneficial effects. This essay will first give plausible explanations for its downsides in terms of communication and interaction, followed by an analysis of how the primary advantage can positively enhance the connection between people.

On the one hand, there is no room for doubt that the appearance of social media has benefited greatly to society, but some of its negative impacts can also be seen in many aspects. First of all, by being highly exposed to cyber world, people, especially the young generation, show a strong tendency to loosen the bonds between family members, not to mention their real-world relationships. Additionally, spending a huge amount of time on the social world probably puts people in grave danger of losing the ability to communicate. This is because people who are totally engrossed in surfing social media like Facebook, Instagram, or Tik Tok distance themselves from being confident, and therefore, communication seems to be challenging for them. Taking China as a prime example, its government has recently revealed that 87% of Chinese youngsters who spend roughly 15 hours per day are afraid of social interaction with strangers and their friends.

On the other hand, due to the geographical distances, social media is a necessary tool to connect people globally. For instance, Facebook messenger, which is one of the world-famous social media applications, is widely used for calling, texting, or exchanging information despite distances. Furthermore, in virtue of the COVID-19 outbreak, for example, online working through social media is commonly favored among many companies. Having said that, this is simply just a temporary measure that is applied to catch at a straw, and therefore, traditional communication is still considered as an appropriate method of interaction rather than social media.

In conclusion, I personally assume that social media has both pros and cons, however, in the long-term period, this kind of interaction mainly poses a threat to the human ability of communication and interaction.