What are the advantages and disadvantages for children watching television?

Nowadays, a lot of children spend much of their time to watch TV. The number of TV channels is growing daily and a lot of cartoons, movies are being filmed and shown. This phenomenon has both pros and cons, and this essay will look at them.

Over the last decade, many scientific and educational programs have been introduced. One of the advantages is that children can learn new things, skills while watching them. For example, from each episode of popular scientific program "Science in action" you can learn the basics of physics, engineering and even robotics. As a result, children will be more well-rounded.

Another advantage of watching TV is that children can be aware of all actions and things, that are happening all over the world. Children could watch news and become aware of all trends, that are going on. As a result, youngsters will be always in touch, moreover they will develop generally.

If we look at downsides, the main one is damage to one's health. A huge number of researches have been conducted and there is no doubt that spending a lot of time next to TV may have a negative impact on one's eyes. In addition, youngsters may watch inappropriate things on TV, while their parents are away. In case they do that, their mental development will be affected.

To sum up, despite being efficient and useful for children, TV has plenty of downsides. If children use TV as an educational resource, they can take advantage of it and become more smarter and intelligent.