What are the advantages and disadvantages of writing a business plan?

There is an irrefutable fact that every business starts with a business plan. Humans can not develop without a plan, so let’s consider the advantages and disadvantages of writing a business plan.

It can be said that writing a business plan has some notable positive effects. The first advantage of business plans is that it helps prioritize the work and put the right people for the right job. The owner can keep track of milestones of business as envisaged in the business plan. Therefore, writing a plan helps increases the possibility of the business plan being a success. Another advantage of writing a business plan is attracting investment. The company, which has a business plan ready, can present to prospective investors. If sponsors like, they will finance the business plan. We all know how essential capital is for starting a business; no project can launch without capital.

However, writing a business plan is not completely beneficial, several negative aspects should be taken into consideration. The biggest disadvantage of the business plans is that it involves time and expenses. Small businesses are concerned that they neither have money and expertise to make a proper business plan. It can lead to the business suffering more rather than gaining from the business plan. Besides, depending on writing can make the owners lose flexibility and become rigid. They will keep sticking to the business plan even if it is detrimental to the interests of the business. For insurance, if the business plan has envisaged 10000 units of production but due to a change in consumer taste sales of only 5000 units can be done. If the owner sticks to the business plan then it will be a loss-making decision.

In conclusion, it is worth considering that there are both advantages and disadvantages of making a business plan. Any person making a business plan should keep the above points in mind to ensure the success of the business.