When international media (including movies, fashion shows, advertisements and other
TV programmes) convey the same messages to the global audience, people argue that the
expansion of international media has negative impacts on cultural diversity. What is your
opinion?
As international media companies expand across the world, the growing popularity and uniformity of
some media programmes (such as TV shows, movies, fashion shows) is causing worldwide concern.
Many people have strong views toward this trend. In my opinion, international media is closely linked
to cultural globalisation and cultural homogeneity.
The dominance of international media is a sign of Western cultural imperialism and has the potential
to thwart cultural diversity. It is not a secret that international media is owned and operated by a
handful of giant corporations, such as Time Warner. They control large sectors of the media market
and place national media companies at risk. The contraction in the number of media owners will cause
a proportional reduction in the variety of programmes broadcasted. For example, painting, music and
movies accessible in the media have a small number of genres, imposing restraints on one's knowledge
of artworks of different cultural backgrounds.
In addition to seizing control over those creative industries, global entertainment companies affect
cultural diversity by reshaping the perceptions, beliefs and norms of ordinary citizens in different
countries. Most of the cultural values and ideals promoted by the leading mainstream media are of
American origin. American culture values individuality, maximisation of one's benefits and material
wealth, rather than communal life and family solidarity, the values and norms previously treasured in
many Asian countries. Unfortunately, many Asian people now imitate American people, causing the
alteration of their perceptions of family. This radical change can be attributed to those movies and TV
programmes that portray the success of American individuals or corporations.
The loss of media diversity is also responsible for people's narrow sense of ways of life. The ruling
class of many countries speaks English, favours Western food, wears Western-style jackets and even
prefers Western weddings. Young people are captivated by American basketball and some even
daubing the names of NBA stars on their school sweatsuits. All these transformations in life are the
result of the audience's exposure to Hollywood movies, TV shows and sports reports. The loss of
media diversity will lead to degradation of culture and to a minimisation of cultural diversity. It is a
worrying trend, as people need cultural diversity to preserve and pass on their valuable heritage to
future generations, including lifestyle.
As shown above, international media, controlled by a handful of transnational media corporations, is
exporting Western culture worldwide and putting many indigenous cultures at the risk of extinction.
The uniformity of media programmes has led to that of artworks, norms and ways of life wherever
international media goes.