Whether or not someone achieve their aims is mostly a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Everybody yearns for a bit of luck at some point in their life when things are seem hard. Many will argue that luck is something one is born with while not having to work hard for anything in their life, others differ in their opinion.

History has taught and given us valuable lessons that luck, even though may seem necessary, it is hard work and determination that makes one achieve his/her goals. No one has achieved greatness being lazy!

Karl Benz who is believed to be the first to have built the automobile car had a dream and through pure determination, hard work and dedication he brought to reality his dream. True he was lucky to have been born in Germany and also to have received a good education which his mother strove upon despite having to live in poverty. Another example is the high-school drop out Bill Gates. He was obsessed with computers and dropped out of school in order to pursue his dream. His hard work and determination has payed off which has earned him a place among the Forbes richest men. From humble beginnings, he has created the multi-billion dollar Microsoft empire which is the basis of all computer programming software. Similarly, Steve Jobs like Bill Gates created the modern Apple brand and the first smartphone, which has become a basic necessity in the everyday household.

Therefore, it is my belief and opinion that how one achieve his/her aims is not through luck but more through hard work, determination and dedication. Luck is purely having made conscious and the right choices is life to become a successful individual. Learning from failures and using those as stepping stones to achieve greatness is the will to succeed which has nothing to do with luck. I believe luck is reserved to when someone wins the Lotto. But even then, isn’t it pure will and the effort that person took to buy the winning ticket which rendered him lucky in the first place?