Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society.

I strongly disagree with the idea that our lives are less secure without the death penalty. I personally do not think that capital punishment decreases the number of crimes and controls violence.

It is an unethical idea to punish someone with death so that crime would stop and others would not commit crime either. On the other hand, it does not control violence and does not prevent other criminals from committing crime as well. If the person is psychopath and has unhealthy mental status then nothing can stop that person from committing a crime. That type of person should be under control in private areas that are divided for only them. Because, some psychopathic behaviors cannot be treated. But that does not mean killing them would solve the problem.

I agree that there are types of serious crimes that need more heavy punishments than arresting them and then putting them in prison because it would not help to stop these types of criminals. In that position, it appears that the death penalty might be an option, however, from my point of view, there should be other options that are more ethical such as life imprisonment or isolating them from other humans and putting them in special areas for only people that cannot be gain to society, perhaps trying on psychological punishments.

In conclusion, some criminals cannot regret anything they have done, and would even do it over and over again without feeling any emotion. So, in situations like that, even though I do not support the death penalty, capital punishment could be an option yet, otherwise, it is not a considerable thing for other types of criminals since there have been people who were innocent that died to capital punishment.