Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last few years, crime rates have soared significantly. Indeed, there are various types of capital punishment, such as by, giving lethal injection, firing squad, electrocution, hanging, and so on. A growing number of people believe that without death penalty, crime rate will plummet and we will feel insecure. It is there view that, execution must be the primary punishment. I tend to agree to some extent with this idea. I will explain my opinion with relevant examples.

On the one hand, this type of punishment can be true deterrent to would-be murderers from killing people. For instance, executions especially which are painful, humiliating and public may make a sense of horror and tangible intimidation among the criminals. Undeniably, they will think thrice before they will commit crime. Based on data from all 50 states from 1978 to 1997, each state execution deters an average of 14 murders annually. Therefore, most states are embracing "an eye for an eye" and "a death for death" type of justice.

Secondly, it prevents reoffending and offers vindication for victims family. To put it in another way, offender neither remain danger to the public nor to the prison staffs. Over and above that, the punishment tend to be outright closure and justifying to sufferers.

Having said that, death penalty is often regarded as an unconscionable. Take lethal injection for instance. States are often using cocktail

of two drugs that has never been used before for capital punishment. As a consequence, criminals are enduring a longer death and moving more frequently than usual. That is to say, offenders are subject of unnecessary suffering in an execution. Moreover, medical professionals and anaesthesiologists won't allow physicians to participate in this type of execution. All this means that we don't know who is actually performing? Untrained prison officials or doctors performing surreptitiously or execution specialists(Are there over such things) ?

Capital punishment is even more expensive. The intensive jury selection, trials and appeals required in capital cases can take over a decade and run up a huge tab for the state. Inaddition, such prisoners facing execution are kept in separate cells under intense observation, is also immensely costly. For instance, death penalty cost 3 million dollars which was almost 2 million dollars more than when it wasn't sought.

To sum up, although it is a common belief of many people about capital punishment as the major punishment, I personally believe we should look for alternative form of punishment like life imprisonment due to factors like excessive costs and innocent people being executed.